‘Lawless’ Stars on Cover of ‘The Hollywood Reporter’

The cast of the upcoming film, Lawless was featured in the latest Hollywood Reporter issue.   John Hillcoat, the film’s director talks about the arduous process getting the movie made.  Studios and distributors didn’t want to touch it because they thought a period gangster movie would be a hard sell to the movie-going public.

” ‘We went to every other studio and every other distributor, and no one would touch it. They said there was no hope for a period film, and because it was a rural gangster movie, they couldn’t wrap their heads around it,’ said Lawless director John Hillcoat of the arduous process of getting it to the big screen. He added that Shia LaBeouf was the only actor to stay on during the long process.”

If we left it to studios and distributors to choose what type of movies to make, all we would get in theatres would be super-hero and inane action-thrillers.   Wait, that’s already happened.  Anyway, I digress.

Lawless stars Shia Labeouf, Tom Hardy, and Jason Clarke as bootlegging brothers who take on corrupt lawmen led by Guy Pearce.  The movie also stars Jessica Chastain, Mia Wasikowska, and Dane DeHann.

Shia LaBeouf talks about fanboying Tom Hardy and sending him the script forLawless. 

” ‘That shit changed my life,’ Lawless star Shia LaBeouf said of Tom Hardy’s Bronson.  ’I went home and wrote Tom a letter saying I was a fan. He sent me a script, and I sent him Lawless. He called me back and said, ‘This is f—ing amazing.’ “

Lawless is in theatres August 29.

About Entertainment Phile

Do what I love and give back. Those are the main ideologies for this site. I get to post topics near and dear to me and have a place to share it with others. I’ve been an entertainment junkie since I was born. There are so many outlets out there that provides entertainment news but the content was never enough to satisfy my appetite for more in-depth coverage. Spurned on by curiosity and motivated to find the answers, I’ve logged many hours looking for the latest updates on everything entertainment related. As a recipient of all this new found information, I hope this will be a resource for news about movies, TV shows, books and all things entertainment.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Tell us what you think

