Joseph Gordon-Levitt Takes Issue with ‘GQ’ Article

Joseph Gordon-Levitt was featured in the August issue of GQ magazine.  He was interviewed by GQ contributor, Amy Wallace.  In the article, the writer describes a visit with the 31-year-old actor to his alma mater, Van Nuys High School.

“‘I was a sort of serious little dude—snobby. I thought girls my age were very frustrating. They were, like, looking in their compact mirrors and shit, and I thought that was evil,’ he says, adding that he was in danger of becoming ‘a hopeless ivory-tower douchebag. I’m a little more forgiving now. I’ve grown to laugh at myself a little bit more than I did.’”

Joseph Gordon-Levitt also talked about his hitRecord internet project and his film projects like The Dark Knight that came out in July, Premium Rush due out in August and the sci-fi thriller Looper, out in September.   In December, he will appear in Steven Spielberg’s Lincoln, a biopic that follows the last four months of the sixteenth president’s life.  Daniel Day-Lewis stars as Abraham Lincoln and suggested Joseph Gordon-Levitt to play his son in the movie.

Joseph Gordon-Levitt took issue with how Amy Wallace described his older brother, Dan’s death in 2010 as an “alleged drug overdose.”

“Joe launched the site with his older brother, Dan. A photographer and fire spinner who went by the moniker Burning Dan, the elder Gordon-Levitt died of an alleged drug overdose in 2010. ‘It was an accident’ is all Joe will say about that.”

He made a statement about the article on his Tumblr site post, “Burning Dan in GQ.

“Using the word ‘alleged’ technically allows the writer to say whatever she wants.  The ‘allegations’ to which she must be referring were made by a handful of gossip websites.  They are factually incorrect according to the coroner’s office and the police department.  I don’t like publicly speaking about my brother’s death, but I’m making an exception to correct this irresponsible claim.”

About Entertainment Phile

Do what I love and give back. Those are the main ideologies for this site. I get to post topics near and dear to me and have a place to share it with others. I’ve been an entertainment junkie since I was born. There are so many outlets out there that provides entertainment news but the content was never enough to satisfy my appetite for more in-depth coverage. Spurned on by curiosity and motivated to find the answers, I’ve logged many hours looking for the latest updates on everything entertainment related. As a recipient of all this new found information, I hope this will be a resource for news about movies, TV shows, books and all things entertainment.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Tell us what you think

