Meet Thorin Oakenshield from ‘The Hobbit’

“I am a bit mean.  I haven’t got a nice guy face.”

Richard Armitage  as the dwarf Prince, Thorin Oakenshield in the upcoming J.R.R. Tolkien adaption of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey.  

Thorin’s character is described in Empire Online as:

Thorin fights alongside Gandalf and has his share of heroic moments, but he’s also haughty and officious, gets himself captured before anyone else at Mirkwood, makes serious diplomatic gaffes at Laketown and throws a big strop when Bilbo nicks the Arkenstone.

Armitage made a brief appearance in Captain America: The First Avenger.  At the beginning of the year, he was voted “one to watch in 2012” by MTV.  He spoke to MTV about what it was like filming The Hobbit.

It’s really weird because when we started it was just this enormous mountain to climb, but actually, it’s going so fast. I think we’ve gotten to the halfway point now. It’s been really intense but so exciting. We literally just finished our location shoot that we’ve been out on the road seeing most of New Zealand. It’s been the best thing I’ve ever worked on in my life, by far.

The soundstages they made in Wellington, [New Zealand], most of the time it doesn’t feel like we’ve been working on a set. Even when there’s a green screen there, Peter’s vision of it is so clear and his description of it is so clear. The pre-production CGI that they’ve already created really fires up your imagination. That was the shoot we started with. On location, it’s just theirs to program these amazing images into your head, so we can now take them back into the studio.

I don’t think it will be possible to leave it behind me. I think this is one of those characters that always stay with you because you spend so much time with him and it’s such a transformation. I’m in the character every day, and I’ve become so familiar with him. I sort of know how he thinks. I feel really close to the character, and he will continue beyond this job , [spoiler ahead] even though, he dies at the end of the movie. I think he is a fascinating character. I will probably wake up in six years’ time and be inspired to think about him again. It’s really exciting.

About Entertainment Phile

Do what I love and give back. Those are the main ideologies for this site. I get to post topics near and dear to me and have a place to share it with others. I’ve been an entertainment junkie since I was born. There are so many outlets out there that provides entertainment news but the content was never enough to satisfy my appetite for more in-depth coverage. Spurned on by curiosity and motivated to find the answers, I’ve logged many hours looking for the latest updates on everything entertainment related. As a recipient of all this new found information, I hope this will be a resource for news about movies, TV shows, books and all things entertainment.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Tell us what you think

